Few small teams buy a CRM for the feature list. They buy it to stop losing track of who said what. Free tiers look generous until you count seats, and TechRepublic reports that HubSpot’s free CRM supports two users for sales tasks (TechRepublic (tech review publisher)), so this guide weighs setup effort, free-plan limits and entry price for teams of one to ten users.

H2 sections: 5 · Free-plan caps compared: 3 · Vendors priced in the spec table: 7 · Source domains: 11

Quick snapshot

1Confirmed facts
2What’s unclear
3Timeline signal
  • ZDNET’s review dated 2026-01-16 names HubSpot as the top pick with free entry (ZDNET, technology review publisher)
  • NetHunt’s ranking dated 2026-09-13 lists HubSpot CRM as free, with no time limit, and paid plans from $9 per user per month (NetHunt, CRM ranking site)
4What’s next
  • Budget against full-featured cost, not entry price. According to Prospeo (B2B comparison site), the average full-featured CRM plan runs about $67 per user per month, against advertised entry prices near $14 (Prospeo (B2B comparison site))

Seven vendors fall into three seat-cap groups, and the free tiers that look most generous cap users most tightly.

Item Value
HubSpot CRM free plan 2 users, 1,000 contacts, 2,000 email sends per month (Kudos CRM (CRM buyer’s guide))
Zoho CRM free plan Free for up to 3 users, permanently (Kudos CRM, CRM buyer’s guide)
Bigin by Zoho CRM free plan 1 user (Zite (CRM comparison blog))
Salesforce Starter Suite $25 per user per month, no user maximum (Kudos CRM, CRM buyer’s guide)
Pipedrive free plan None, according to Zite (CRM comparison blog)
monday CRM $12 per user per month, with a three-user minimum (Fit Small Business (small-business advice site))
Freshsales Free for 3 users; Growth at $9 per user per month billed annually (Fit Small Business (small-business advice site))

What is the best CRM for a very small business?

No single CRM wins for every small team. The right pick depends on user count, budget and whether a free tier is a hard requirement.

Three names keep surfacing in the sources, each for a different reason.

  • Less Annoying CRM ranks highest in Capterra’s analysis of 1,628 reviews, at 4.86 from 57 reviews (Capterra, software review platform).
  • DecisionCircuit’s guide picks HubSpot CRM as best overall for most small businesses, scored 9.2/10, according to that guide (DecisionCircuit (CRM comparison guide)).
  • According to VoidSyntax’s comparison, Bigin by Zoho CRM has a one-user free plan and paid plans from $7 per user billed annually (VoidSyntax (free-vs-paid CRM comparison)).

The table below sorts the four most-discussed options by the constraint that usually decides the shortlist.

Vendor Free tier Best fit
HubSpot CRM 2 users One or two sellers who want a free start
Zoho CRM 3 users, permanent Teams of two or three with a growth plan
Bigin by Zoho CRM 1 user A solo seller who needs a simple pipeline
Less Annoying CRM None; 30-day trial Teams that pay from day one for simplicity
Why this matters

A free seat cap decides the shortlist before features do. HubSpot’s two-user limit rules it out for a three-person sales team before anyone compares dashboards.

The implication: a team of three is buying a seat count, not a feature set. Budget against that number first.

What are the top 5 CRM software?

Five names dominate the small-business results, and the price spread among them is wide enough to change the decision. The table lists the seven vendors this review priced, with free tiers and entry paid prices side by side.

Seven vendors, one pattern: the free tiers cap seats tightly, and entry paid prices run from $7 to $25 per user per month.

Vendor Free tier Entry paid price Trial
HubSpot CRM 2 users, no time limit (NetHunt, CRM ranking site) $9 per user per month promotional; $15 on monthly billing (ZDNET, technology review publisher) Not stated
Zoho CRM 3 users, permanent (Kudos CRM, CRM buyer’s guide) $14 per user per month, Standard, billed annually (Kudos CRM, CRM buyer’s guide) Not stated
Bigin by Zoho CRM 1 user (Zite, CRM comparison blog) $7 per user per month billed annually (VoidSyntax, free-vs-paid CRM comparison) 15-day trial (Fit Small Business (small-business advice site))
Less Annoying CRM None (VoidSyntax, free-vs-paid CRM comparison) $15 per user per month, single plan (NetHunt, CRM ranking site) 30 days (VoidSyntax, free-vs-paid CRM comparison)
Pipedrive None (Zite, CRM comparison blog) $14 per user per month, Lite (Kudos CRM, CRM buyer’s guide); $24 on monthly billing (Zite, CRM comparison blog) 14 days (Kudos CRM, CRM buyer’s guide)
Salesforce Starter Suite Not stated $25 per user per month, no user maximum (Kudos CRM, CRM buyer’s guide) Not stated
monday CRM Not stated $12 per user per month, three-user minimum (Fit Small Business, small-business advice site) Not stated
Editor’s note

No figure in this review was checked on a vendor’s own pricing page. Treat each number as a starting point, and read the spread between sources as part of the story.

Bottom line: HubSpot’s free plan is a real starting point but a two-seat ceiling, not a team plan (Kudos CRM, CRM buyer’s guide). Solo sellers should test Bigin by Zoho CRM’s one-user free plan, and teams of two or three should compare Zoho’s three-user cap against their next hire.

What are the four types of CRM?

  • Operational CRM covers daily contact, sales and service tasks.
  • Analytical CRM focuses on customer data and reporting.
  • Collaborative CRM shares customer history across teams.
  • Strategic CRM links customer data to long-term planning.

These four labels appear often in CRM explainers, but none of the sources in this review tests them against vendor data. Treat them as vocabulary for comparing tools, not as a verdict on any one product.

The implication: price the table at your real headcount, not at the free tier’s seat cap.

Which CRM is beginner friendly?

Beginner friendliness is a setup question more than a screenshot question. The review data shows where learning complaints cluster and where ease-of-setup scores point.

  • Capterra’s analysis finds learning-curve complaints at Salesforce Sales Cloud (90 of 425 reviews) and Zoho CRM (51 of 225) (Capterra, software review platform).
  • According to NetHunt, Zoho Bigin scores 8.8/10 on G2 ease of setup, a full point above full Zoho CRM. That comparison rests on low-confidence evidence (NetHunt, CRM ranking site).
  • Fit Small Business weights ease of use at 15% of its free CRM scoring, covering setup, onboarding, interface design, templates and learning curve (Fit Small Business, small-business advice site).

Upsides

  • Bigin by Zoho CRM has the lightest free entry, at one user
  • Less Annoying CRM offers one plan, with no tiers to compare
  • Zoho’s interface earns a lower complaint rate than Salesforce Sales Cloud in the Capterra data

Downsides

  • Salesforce Sales Cloud draws the most learning-curve complaints in the review set
  • Free plans with tight seat caps push growing teams into paid tiers quickly
  • No free plan at Pipedrive means a paid commitment before a first test

Is CRM difficult to learn?

  • According to Prospeo, a CRM should take less than a day to set up, and a tool that needs a consultant is the wrong tool (Prospeo, B2B comparison site).
  • Troop Messenger notes that small businesses usually lack a dedicated CRM administrator, so setup and daily use weigh more than feature lists (Troop Messenger (small-business CRM guide)).
  • Learning effort depends on data import, the number of pipeline stages and training time, not on the interface alone.

The catch: a tool can look simple and still stall if the data import takes a week. Plan the import before you pick the tool.

Bottom line: The implication: judge learning time by the import, not by the login screen.

Do you really need a CRM in 2026?

Maybe not, if your business is small enough to hold its contacts in one head. A CRM earns its cost once contacts, quotes and follow-ups start to overlap across more than one person.

It centralizes contact records, sales activity and follow-up tasks in one system. The trade-off is setup time, data-entry overhead and a recurring per-user subscription.

The catch

ZDNET notes that the next HubSpot tier can exceed $800 per month once bolt-ons are added, so the entry price is only the start of the bill (ZDNET, technology review publisher).

What are the disadvantages of CRM?

  • Setup time: someone has to map stages, fields and imports before the first deal is logged.
  • Data-entry overhead: a CRM only works when the team logs activity, and that habit costs time every week.
  • Recurring cost: according to DecisionCircuit, entry-level paid CRMs commonly cost $9 to $30 per user per month on annual billing, and advanced functions push realistic costs to $30 to $100 or more per user (DecisionCircuit, CRM comparison guide).

A business with few contacts and one seller can skip a paid CRM for now, and a shared spreadsheet covers the early stage.

The trade-off: buy a CRM when a missed follow-up costs more than the subscription, not when a vendor calls.

Is Excel a CRM software?

Excel is a spreadsheet, and a spreadsheet makes you build contact history and pipeline tracking by hand. That works for a short time and breaks once two people edit the same file.

Is WhatsApp a CRM tool?

  • WhatsApp Business offers business profiles and messaging tools, but it does not keep pipeline records by default.
  • Spreadsheets and messaging apps work as temporary tracking tools before a dedicated CRM is adopted.
  • The breaking point arrives when two people need to see the same lead history.

Neither tool is a CRM by design. Both can hold a list for a while, then fail when the list needs owners, stages and reminders.

The implication: use a spreadsheet until a second person needs the same record, then move to a CRM.

Confirmed facts

  • Less Annoying CRM sells one plan at $15 per user per month, with no annual commitment (NetHunt, CRM ranking site)
  • HubSpot’s free plan requires no payment card details (ZDNET, technology review publisher)

What’s unclear

  • HubSpot’s entry price: $20 per user per month in Capterra, against $9 promotional and $15 monthly in ZDNET (Capterra, software review platform)
  • Current free-plan and trial terms for Zoho CRM, HubSpot and Bigin by Zoho CRM, which sources state differently by date and billing cycle
  • Which vendor fits any single business profile, since each guide picks differently
  • Whether measured evidence shows that CRM adoption is declining, which none of the sources supplies

Small businesses usually lack a dedicated CRM administrator, so ease of setup and daily usability weigh more than feature lists.

Troop Messenger, small-business CRM guide (paraphrased)

Entry-level paid CRMs commonly cost around $9 to $30 per user per month on annual billing.

DecisionCircuit, CRM comparison guide (paraphrased)

Ease of use carries 15% of the score in Fit Small Business’s free CRM review, covering setup, onboarding, interface design, templates and learning curve.

Fit Small Business, small-business advice site (paraphrased)

For a team of one to ten users, the decision is clear: price the seats you actually have, and treat any free tier that cannot hold that count as a trial, not a plan.

Related reading

Neither page covers CRM software. Both compare business tools on free versus paid terms, the same test applied throughout this guide.

Frequently asked questions

Is there a free CRM for small business?

Yes, with tight seat caps. Kudos CRM lists Zoho CRM as free for up to three users permanently (Kudos CRM, CRM buyer’s guide), while Bigin by Zoho CRM’s free plan covers one user (Zite, CRM comparison blog).

How much does Zoho CRM cost?

Kudos CRM puts Zoho’s Standard plan at $14 per user per month, billed annually (Kudos CRM, CRM buyer’s guide). The free plan stops at three users.

Is HubSpot CRM suitable for small business?

It suits one or two sellers who want a free start. TechRepublic reports the free plan supports two users for sales tasks (TechRepublic, tech review publisher), and ZDNET notes that higher tiers can exceed $800 per month with bolt-ons (ZDNET, technology review publisher).

What is Bigin by Zoho CRM?

It is a simple pipeline CRM from Zoho. According to VoidSyntax, its free plan supports one user, and paid plans start at $7 per user billed annually (VoidSyntax, free-vs-paid CRM comparison).

What is an all-in-one CRM for small business?

An all-in-one CRM bundles contacts, the sales pipeline and follow-up tasks in one system. Judge it by whether your team needs those pieces at once, not by how many modules a vendor lists.

Which features matter most in a small business CRM?

Ease of setup and daily use matter most when no one on the team administers the system (Troop Messenger, small-business CRM guide). Fit Small Business weights ease of use at 15% of its free CRM scoring (Fit Small Business, small-business advice site).